• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Train alone or take a course?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Combat Diver

Jun 29, 2005
I have been diving for 8 years,but never really looked at freediving until recently.

I don't plan on trying to shatter any records,but would like to maximize the time of my holds, to supplement my Navy SEAL/Combat Diving training.I also think it could help me with Rescue swimming(especially if someone is trapped deep underwater.)

I currently can get near 1:30 and near 2 min if I push it but get a little light headed when I get near 2min.

The problem is I travel around a lot doing some form of Combat,Rescue,and Survival training or doing marathon runs and swims so my schedule doesn't really allow for me to take on any more courses and I am wondering if it would be possible to train this alone or should I wait and try to find a freediver instructor when I have more time?

I will have some time freed up in about 7 months where I could do this,but not sure if there is anyone in Michigan that I could train with.