• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Waterwing

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

info@janploeg.n

Oct 12, 2007
Hello Everyunderwaterbody,
Looong time ago I posted something about the waterwing I have been developing since 1992. There is no end to this. It is an ongoing process, but it does have its landmarks. The idea is to get your hands (&arms) to contribute to your speed underwater by dodging resistance factors that are kin to all (known to me) ways of other underwater arm advancement. Until last year I used arched constructions with rubber sails, both hands basically in the middle, tilting it down, thereby pushing water backwards und from down tilting it up, heaving it and thereby pushing water backwards as well. By lowering and heaving the waterwing you go forward. Working with stretched out arms seems to be a heavy job, especially with your breath held. What actually makes it a lot more easy is that at virtually any speed the tilt results in the oncoming water to either make the wing glide down or up. So you can dose the force with which you push down or heave as little or as much as you choose. Though the wing improved by trial and error progression I left the arched concept and made a wing based on the pe