• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Weighting Question...

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

igoswoop

Jun 13, 2006
Hi,

I'm new to spearfishing and freediving in general. I have most of my equipment sorted out for my first trip but need some advice for the last few loose ends. I will be hunting from shore mostly in the Central to South Florida area in saltwater and will occasionally hunt in the Florida Keys. The water temps are quite warm here so for my standard suit, I'm planning on getting the 1.5mm OMER Dahlak Mimetic. I weigh appx 170lbs. How much weight should I start with to be on the safe side? I also will use my 3mm suit when the temperature drops a little but I wanted to get an idea how much someone around my size would wear with 1.5mm and also with a 3mm respectively?

Thanks!!

Last edited:
i need an answer for this too :cool: just to get an idea. ill probably end up going to a dive shop for the proper amount

To get an idea for weight
in fresh water with a 5/4/3 mm suit at about 170lbs with gear, youll prob use 12 lbs

in salt water same setup will prob need 16
if you use a 5mm Omer suit meaning farmer john/with shorty suit youll need about 18lbs