• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

what level of commitment is required

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

sims

Jan 8, 2014
I'm just starting out on my journey into the world of freediving, although so far I've only got to the stage of trying dry breath holds to see how wierd it feels and looking for an intro course to book somewhere.

And while there seem to be heaps of information on various training techniques, safety measures and many other things, one thing I haven't been able to get a handle on is how much time commitment is actually required to get to a point where you can perform freediving at a decent recreational level (say for a random point of reference be able to have 60-90s dive times with a little bit of activity at not too much depth).

Is this something that is reasonably achievable given a limited amount of time or should I try and find something else?

Where I'm starting from:
- early 30s
- can swim reasonably well and comfortable in the water
- so-so fitness level (not overweight or hugely unfit, but I don't really work out so I tend to go out of breath quickly when running, which I imagine may be an issue :) but that problem can be resolved with some motivation)