• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Which areas of Oz have the best spearfishing?!

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Janner

Mar 28, 2006
Hiya guys, i am about to apply for a working holiday visa in Australia (i am a tree surgeon) and i am trying to find out if there are any particular areas of the country that have particulary good spearfishing.

If you guys can give me any advice it will be greatly appreciated. The sooner i get a list of places together the sooner i can start searching for tree work in those areas.

Many Thanks

Ian

Hey Ian.
Depends what time of year you are here, in our winter the tropics would be best, in our summer/autumn the temperate regions also come into play. Our spring can be a bit of a lottery, due to winds.
Cheers.

Reactions: Janner
Hiya Nigelr,

To be honest mate, at the minute i am planning in staying in Oz for as long as possible so i am not really restricted by seasons. I have just been told that Coffs Harbour has good diving, what do you think?