• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

New to free diving

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

_Jake_

Aug 13, 2014
Hi,

My name is Jake and I'm new to free diving, as I had actually never even heard of it being a sport. The past couple of days I've been doing a lot of research on free diving ( even read the thread for beginners here ) and I got intensely interested in it, so I consider starting with it in my spare time as a college student.

When it comes to gear for training, it seems to me like there's not much of a cost, needing only a few things such as a low volume diving mask, long bladed fins ( and a wetsuit ).

I have recently been doing some training myself on breath hold, of which I was very proud, until I discovered free diving and saw the duration of the average diver...

As I've mentioned, I really want to start training ( in a public pool ), and I'm welcoming all possible information. As for as I've understood from the thread for beginners here, having a buddy is necessarily before you can start and understanding safety rules might be a priority too, so I've read a lot on that.

I hope I get to learn a lot from you guys, so that I can start in a proper way!

Greets,

Jake

Welcome. Where are you from?