• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

A TRAINING program

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

surfiemullet

Jan 23, 2002
I need help,
Im only new to freediving and do it to get fit for big wave surfing and I need to get a training program made up so I can hold my breath longer. I want it in easy to understand terms.
thanks Josh T

I don't think there's too many parallels between freediving and big wave hold-downs, since you're REALLY relaxed when freediving and not so when being held under by a wall of water. Beginning freedivers generally make their largest improvements mentally rather than physically.

You might want to do some apnea sprinting in the pool (1 length with no breaths) to help your anaerobic endurance. Don't practice holding your breath in the pool without supervision, though. It's easy to black out.

The Hawaiian lifeguards pick up large rocks underwater and run with them on the ocean floor. I think it's similar to apnea sprinting, but I'd go that route on the flat days if you've got an ocean nearby.

That shouldn't stop you from freediving for fun, though--it might even help your surfing a little!

Hola Surfi,