• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Absolute beginner questions

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

drin

Sep 13, 2004
Hi all! I've been lurking here for a few months, but it's time to bombard you with my questions. Please forgive any stupidity I may exhibit...

I'ma long-time SCUBA diver, but my breath hold diving stinks. I'm 38, about 30 pounds too heavy (was 70 a year ago but I'm working my tail off, literally). 1000 m fin swim, one hour on an elliptical trainer and 2 mile run 5 times a week. I'm starting yoga in September and I've ordered Pellizzari's book, which will take about a month to get here.

I'm in Japan (my wife is in the US Navy), I know NO freedivers here, and the local pool won't allow breath hold training. Not that I'd do it on my own anyway. There are no courses I can find anywhere around here in English.

I'm trying to increase my dry static and dry dynamic times - they're pitiful (less than a minute each). If I try breath hold in the ocean I get to about 5 meters and can't equalize any more - too painful.