• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Question Asking for tips during the first few meters

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

hashed-potato

Oct 13, 2023
Hi all,

I'm a beginner freediver that just got my AIDA2 last month. I'm sure this question must have been asked in this forum a few times already, but I couldn't find any by searching. Please point me to other resources if I've missed them.

Although I have no trouble diving ~12m, I feel like the first 2-3m is super hard if I can't equalize every ~0.5m for the first 3-4m. I think this makes sense because compression happens the most in the first few meters. So I'm currently holding my nose with one hand when I'm doing a duck dive, so that I can equalize immediately as I go down.

But I think this is inefficient, because I can only use one arm during duck dive, and my body doesn't get as streamlined as using both arms.

I see everyone else using both of their arms to duck dive and they tell me that until 2-3m, their ears don't feel very uncomfortable.

But in my case, I feel very uncomfortable if I can't equalize immediately after duck diving.