• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Best Float choice

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

jurrasic

Dec 15, 2004
I am new to spearfishing and have read the threads on floats, the one I fancy is the omer atoll bouy looks a nice size to warn boaters that I am underneath and also good storage to carry things. This will be used in UK south coast. What are peoples thoughts on this and are there better choices of floats, like less drag, does it blow over etc.

Last edited:
That is a nice float.

Spend what you can afford.

I made one from building insulation, wire, gaffer tape and some rope I found - infact all of the stuff was found except for a can of orange fluoro. spray paint. Total cost ? About £4.

I don't care if it gets bashed by rocks etc. You can shape one any dimensions you like and attach eyelets for bungee that you can buy from any chandlers for about 55p per metre (might be cheaper where you are :)).

At any rate making your own gear is fun. I think the Omer float is about £40 ?

Might be worth having a go at making one ?

You could even buy a flag and then make a mast on the float to make it more visible.