• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Breath holding ! Please some advice on how to succesfully do it

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

ocean_hunter

Aug 4, 2008
Hey, i've been diving for a couple months now and i was curious about how i should be reacting to my body when it starts buggin out for air.

Sitting still i can get a 4 minute hold with no contractions above water but in it i can pull just a mere 25 seconds, atleast before contractions.

Should i just ignore the urge to go up ?

Ahh need some advice >_<

Thanks, James.

Wow, four minutes down to 25 seconds? That's a very bbig difference.

My only thought goes to a lack of relaxation on your part. Are you afraid of the water in any way? Do you think you are relaxed in the water? If not, have you identified your stressor?

Under water, mine are always less, But yes, just practice the contractions in a pool.

Check out my post thread on holding your breath, This is how i do it. Its not the safest method (Its is often frowned upon, yet some pros do use the Hyperventilation technique) but it has managed to get me a Personal best of 5:01 minutes "How i hold my breath"

No way man, thats the odd thing.