• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Capetonian Newbie

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Lenny

Arrrg...Woof!
Apr 26, 2007
Hey I'm new to this forum, in fact I'm kinda new to spearfishing.
I've been diving for crayfish for a few years, round Kommetjie, Soetwater and Scarborough. Trouble is i get really bored in the off seasons. I know a guy who has a place in Smitswinkel, he started talking to me about back in the day when he was a spearo. From then onwards I kinda fell in love with the idea of shooting fish. since then I have been reading every book I can find about the subject, starting to practice staying underwater for longer etc.

When Crayfishing I have a comfort zone of about 3-6m. I've probally dived up to about 10m, once upon a time. I know that probally sounds like swiming in puddles to you guys. But I'm quite keen to learn.

So I haven't actually gone spearfishing yet, firstly cos I don't have a gun. That's sorta what I want to ask about. Is it real important to buy a brand new, super expensive gun to start off with, or can I work with a second hand one for starters? What are good makes?