• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Question Dangerous to use a wetsuit?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Theo Granlund

Jul 9, 2021
Hi!

I'm very new to any sort of freediving but I am a certified scuba diver and above average swimmer.
Finnily enough I have never used a wetsuit (except with scuba gear on). I just ordered my first one and from what I understand they are buoyant. However, I recently heard or read somewhere that wetsuits can have a negative buoyancy at certain depths.
My question is if that is something I have to worry about. Don't want to swim down and not be able to swim back up...

Thanks in advance for any answers!

Wetsuits by themselves are never negative, always some buoyancy. They require using weights to counter that buoyancy. As you descend, water pressure compresses the wetsuit, reducing its buoyancy. Below a certain point, you become negative and require effort to swim back above your neutral point. Normal. Takes a bit of practice to get the right combination of suit and weight, but unless you are wearing a very thick suit, swimming back to the surface is not an issue.