• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Do you need to be uncomfortable to increase comfort?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

magste

Mar 2, 2017
Hi
First post here. I'm new to freediving, did my beginner course recently and looking to improve my breath hold times when diving, e.g my 50% max time.

During the course doing static apnea we only went as far as the first contraction and were advised to practice static tables to that first contraction.

Reading many posts on training talks about mentally managing contractions to increase max time. I can understand this if you want to max your breathold time in static apnea.

But if, like me, you only want to increase the time before contractions come - eg. the ability to comfortably dive longer durations, is there any benefit practicing holds through multiple contractions (and the associated stress and discomfort)?

Or will my "comfortable" breathold time still increase if I "only" practice holds to first contraction?