• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

does smoking affect your diving?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

dhu

Oct 6, 2004
hi all!
i'm still getting into serious freedive spearfishing and i haven't got anybody to go with[bring on the violin!]. i only mention this because as is understandable it makes me rather cautious in how deep i can go and for how long etc. my situation is this. i've been shallow water spearing for roughly 15 years on and off, mainly river diving, maximum depth probably 10m, but nowi want to get more serious and go deeper. i smoked pot for a couple of years about ten years ago and i'm wondering whether this would have any impact on my freedive potential? i feel like i need to breathe soon as i get down to the bottom, thought this may be because i haven't been wearing a good enough wetsuit and get cold quick. 'm aware that maybe as i'm only now really starting to go deeper, i will need to press on through the urge to breathe and the convulsions and all that. i've read all those books that talka bout shallow water blackout, and i gess now i'm overlyconscious of it. dry static i can probably only go about 2 30-300 at this point. that should mean i could go down to say 15 m and stay there for a min