• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Float Setup?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

spencepb

Apr 27, 2010
I'm just getting started spearfishing and was a little confused about how to rig my spear gun or myself to a float. Or is this even necessary? I plan to dive shallow (15-30ft) rock piles for fairly small fish 5-10lb tautog, which if you are unfamiliar with them they fight extremely hard for their size. I will also be hunting stripers in the 20 to 30lb class. From my reading so far, it sounds like you can rig a float line from your gun to a float, or rig a float line direct to your spear. Which one if any should I try? It seems that I wouldn't necessarily need a float system to handle fighting fish, but so that I can be seen by boaters, so I guess the speed rig would be best? Also, what kind of line would you recommend and what kind of float would be good. I thought about maybe like a big crab float or a boogie board but it seems they would be hard to drag through the water.

Last edited: