• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Freediving snorkel question

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

michaelk

Jul 20, 2007
Hi Everyone

I'm new to freediving and need advice in finding a good snorkel.

I noticed that most freediving snorkels are not equipped with a "purge valve"
is there a special reason for that?

I've used snorkels with purge valve while scuba diving/snorkeling and found
them to be very convenient...

Thanks in advance

Michael

As many freedivers ( particulary spearos ) do not keep snorkel in mouth while diving, it is less useful because you breathe directly once you reach the surface. Personally, I dont like purge valves because the ones I tried were not always efficient with strong waves (Some water came in....) .
I'd say it depends on what equipment you feel the most comfortable ^^

a purge valve makes life easier but makes the snorkel more expensive and as most freedivers leave the snorkel at the top (attach some floaty stuff) - you tend to lose a lot of snorkels!