• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

gold coating vs open cell

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

pfeffinski

Jun 15, 2022
hello, im a beginner freediver, i do fun dives in shallow waters from the shore (not below 10 meters, though in near futur i might go until around 20 meters) and plan to get my very first wetsuit. i've been in contact with elio sub and they propose me some interesting suits. i'm quite sure i will go for a 5mm yamamoto 45 with superstretch lining outside. (warmth and comfort is very important for me) inside i need to choose between classic open cell and gold coated cell.. i read some older posts about the gold coating, seems most people didnt have a good opinion about it, but many of them didnt try it themself..

could someone tell me if the gold coating is worth it?

elio sub assured me that the coated version is just as warm and adherent as normal open cell, that it is nice slippery, way easier to put on and it would last for several years before it flakes off and turns into a normal open cell..

btw how many years lasts a soft yamamoto wetsuit with outer lining anyways, if i dont use it very regular (max. once per week) and wash and store it properly?

thanks!!!:)

Reactions: Mr. X