• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Got a nylon line, but should I use dyneema/spectra?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

juan pablo

Sep 12, 2016
Hey guys, I'm completely new to spearfishing and I'm starting to buy some equipment. I will be fishing in Costa Rica so I bought a speargun (90cm) and a reel for it. The reel comes with 50m (around 170ft) of black 2mm nylon line. Question is, considering Costa Rica has quite a rocky bottom, and groupers/snappers tend to hide under these rocks, would you consider that the nylon line would be insufficient to withstand some rock abrasion? Should a dyneema be a better option in that case? I would still get my mono to the spear and the reel line. Any suggestions?

Attachments

• IMG_5574.JPG
    IMG_5574.JPG
    138.9 KB · Views: 242
I think it will work a few times until you get a stronger line like dyneema or spectra (providing you don't shoot anything HUGE).

Why not start with dyneema and get it out of the way?

mainly because I do not want to spend so much. but since it's going to be something I need to buy in the future why not? Just wanted to know if this nylon stuff is of any use