• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Green Newbie

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Kyle

Jun 4, 2003
Whats up everyone..........Im new to the freediving sport,and the spearfishing sport. Im not sure where to start asking questions, and its all, im sure, easy stuff to answer. I will start with a few here and see what happens. While I am sitting or driving my car, I can hold my breath for 60 seconds, then my legs get extremely fatigued, any my heart starts pounding. Is this normal for a newbie? What track should I start on to improve my breath holds while in action? I am not in shape at all, and Im a bit overweight. 6'2" 230 lbs.
Thanks in advance everyone!

PS. I SCUBA all year long, but the thought of holding my breath and going down 40 feet or so is just impossible at this time.

Welcome to this site of riches.

Ask loopy about the freediving lark he's a good lad as for trying it in the car, well just dont crash. The claim form will be unreadable :D

I also forgot to add something a bit important. Im a smoker. How many of you here were/are smokers that freedive? If I quit smoking, what different type of training will I need to put myself through?
I need a smoke now.
Thanks again everyone!