• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Hold times are decreasing. HELP!!!

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

TecDiver1990

May 30, 2015
Hey everybody. I'm relatively new to freediving (~4 months), and I've run into a bit of a problem. On Tuesday, I was just a few seconds shy of a 3 minute dry static (2:57). The past 3 days, I've barely been able to hit 1:20 before my lungs are screaming and a contraction almost folds me in half. I've recently started doing uddiyana bandha, and the only thing that feels any different physiologically is a bit of congestion in my upper chest and some post-nasal drainage. Anyone else ever experience something like this and any tips for getting past it? It's driving me mad. I quit smoking the same day I started freediving so I could get better. I've progressed from a 0:45 dry static to a 2:57, and it feels like it's just been ripped away. Any advice?