• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

How to get out in the surf

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

noob_spearo

Jun 8, 2016
Hi I am a beginner and I just got a gun (been out a couple times with a pole spear) and I was trying to get out in the surf yesterday and got beaten to a pulp. Fins +gun + waves... It was too tough! Do you guys wrap your guns and fine with bungies before battling the waves? I lost my Google's in that whole fiasco and probably looked really silly. Been trying to find people to dive with but it's not so easy.

Last edited by a moderator:
Are you diving off a large rock, sandy beach or rocky beach? In general I like to get my fins/mask on ASAP

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Are you diving off a large rock, sandy beach or rocky beach? In general I like to get my fins/mask on ASAP

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
So today what I did was get in close to a Rock where the water was calm enough to get my fins on. I don't have a lanyard on my gun so there was my first mistake. I kicked like hell and got past the waves but visibility was shit and I was pooped, so after shooting my gun for the first time and practicing reloading it I headed back...