• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

How to kill a fish

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

LittleFatMan

Mar 12, 2008
Hi Everyone,

I am a complete newbie, having just taken up spearfishing three months ago. I purchased a pole spear on a whim while visiting Hawaii, and when I returned to my home in Japan, found myself determined to give this a real go. I have never fished before, and therefore do not know the basics of regular rod and reel fishing. Hence my question.

I got myself ready to get into the water with my pole spear for the first time, gathering my gear and walking to the beach near my apartment. I swam out and bobbed around the reef for a good hour, trying to practice my aim before going after a real fish. Soon enough, I decided to go after something. The fish in my neck of the woods are very naive and exhibit almost no fear of humans. I believe this is due to the remoteness of my island and their lack of human interaction. Regardless, this works out well for me!