• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

looking for a cheap underwater camera

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Tereferek

Apr 18, 2011
I am an amateur freediver, I never got deeper than about 30 feet - and I don't think I ever will. I plan a vacation trip and chances are I will be able to dive on reefs. I am looking for some cheap (or at least not too expensive) underwater camera, that will also serve as a backup 'idiot' to my DSLR. I know about Canon Powershot D10 - any other similar (better/cheaper) cameras of the same type?

if you have a smaller camera, i recommend you buy a waterproof pouch. mine cost about $20. Dicapac is the brand. they work great! ive even taken mine to 80ft(on scuba) so far it has not leaked yet but the pressure does compress the pouch to the point that all the cameras buttons get pressed at the same time making the camera inoperable, but this only happens at 60ft onward...hope this helps

Jer

Unfortunately, I don't have a small one - and I don't like the idea of putting relatively new EOS 7D bought in December under water in a $20 pouch. I would have no problems with $100 camera, but $1600 seems a little bit to risky to my liking.