• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

MAKO Hunter vs Competition fins

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Danimal6513

Jul 21, 2013
Alright, I'm a total noob at freediving, but I went a couple times at a spring with some friends and now i'm hooked. Anyways, I'm looking for a pair of fins to start off with. I'd be diving 30- 40 feet and doing some spearing as well. Also i'm 6'2 200 pounds and i have strong legs, but i'm not really accustomed to fins. Right now I've narrowed the search down to the MAKO Competition fins or the MAKO Hunter fins. the only difference i can see is that the Competitions have a removable foot pocket and cost 30 dollars more. Price is everything for me right now, and the 63 dollars is awful tempting. I can afford the other ones though, and i want to know if it would be worth the extra cost. Also, how do these fins compare to other similar ones like the Cressi Gara Pro 2000s or Seac Sub Shouts. I want something that I will be able to use for awhile without upgrading, and I would value some experienced opinions.

I have no experience with the mako fins, but if you have wide feet and are cost conscious, the immersion e:green are a very solid and inexpensive fin when bought from diveinn.com.