• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Slitsnipe

May 29, 2017
Hi there I'm new to this, the reason for the star is I used to spearfish with a poles pear, nothing big time. But I took a 3 year break while in the army. So I'm home now and I just bought a cressi comanche 75 last night on amazon, and was wondering if this is a good starter gun? I live in the Gulf side of florida, and does this gun float? Does the line? Is it hard to set up? Is it good? Can i use a reel woth it? Any and all info helps, especially if you have used it before, also for spearfishing off shore should I carry a powerhead or maybe wait a little for that?

Good starter gun? Yes. For the Uk and places with limited visibility. The waters of Florida can be gin clear - in which case a longer speargun might be more appropriate (100cm+)*. But as long as the fish come within range you should be ok.

Does it float? I would be surprised if it doesn't. Most spearguns are intended to float. Some spearguns only float without the spear (e.g. after a shot has been taken).