• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

newbie with beuchat questions

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Jonny250

Job 41:7 can you?
Sep 8, 2007
i'm a complete newbie to spearfishing - this is day zero - i bought a really nice beuchat 75cm speargun today.
because I have a weak back (titanium rods + bolts actually), I wanted to use more flexible rubbers to make loading easier; the guy in the shop was helpul and seemed knowledgeable and made the change to a slightly longer set. I now have a pair of 225mm long 'clear' rubbers (not including the plastic threads on the end) and they are 18mm diameter. I went out and tried the gun, found a suitable spot and tried to load the spear. No chance.
i know that i need to learn technique and gain fitness, but in the meantime, given that I am not going to be totally serious spearo, I want to get some less tricky rubbers to use. I see in the Beuchat catalogue that there are 16 and 13mm rubbers and also longer ones too.
My questions:
1. What would you suggest would be best - thinner, same length rubbers, or same thickness, longer?