• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

O2 and CO2 tables

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

themike

Feb 13, 2011
I'm just starting out with static apnea tables.
How often is safe for me to do O2 and CO2 tables as a beginner?
should I do O2 and CO2 table on separate days?

Good Things,
Mike

Good question.

It has to do with the amount of energy you have and the recovery speed your body and mind has.
You see, just like training muscles, you need rest to recover, and more rest to grow and progress.
Thanks to the soothing qualities of water, it´s easy to over train in freediving.
Compared to swimming it may feels like double the tiredness you would have from aerobic swim training. Usually I come out of the pool energised, but when I get home the tiredness kicks in hard! Even though I drink and eat directly after I leave the water to allow my body to start repairs right away.

If you have a very good fitness, you can do a table a day, alternating between O2 and CO2. But in general I recommend just 2 or 3 tables a week. I like to do these in water with an able buddy at the beginning of my pool training. But as you will learn with freediving it´s very important to become sensitive to what your body tells you.