• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Open Heel vs Closed Heel fins

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Slider

Dec 21, 2002
Im new to freediving and just after some explanations on why closed heel fins seem to be the go over open heel ??

Any contributions welcome !!

Slider

I'm interested in hearing about this, too. I've been using open heel fins for years. Since the Scuba Pro Jet Fins were THE fins and they were less than $25 a pair. Of course we were all using oval masks back then, too. Lately I've been hearing how much more efficient closed heel fins are. Did I miss something?:eek:

My opinion is closed heels for free diving and spearing open for scuba, closed heels may give a bit more power and also dont have bloody annoying clips to catch on your float line.
Open heel are good with boots with hard gripped soles good for walking over barnacles etc with heap of heavy scuba gear ,tank BC etc on your back.

Open heel freediving fins are still somewhat rare so if you want a decent freediving fin then closed heel is the way to go.

For freediving and spearfishing most use an 80cm blade as opposed to the shorter and less powerful scuba fin.