• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Question about Mares fins

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

NBlox

Feb 5, 2015
Hi all,

I'm a newbie and I've been looking for a nice pair of plastic fins for a while. I've read about some of the fins here that are being recommended for beginners. I'm interested in getting either the Mares Instinct Pro's or the Mares Razors (the grey ones).

Are there any people here who could give their opinion on these and/or possibly a comparison between the two?

Thanks in advance.

I find the Mares Instinct pro a bit hard, which can actually be a good thing when you have to bring up a lot of lead from depth. What I love about them is that they are virtually indestructible. So it really depends on what you want to use the fins for...

Reactions: NBlox
I've been using the mako competition freediver fins, for $90, I'm not complaining. I've used them to 50' and haven't had any issues. They're not the best for surface swimming but still work pretty well. I'm pretty sure any plastic fin will scratch easily but thats just battle scares.

The Mako's aren't an option since my budget is pretty tight. The Razors are 75 dollars and that's about as much as I'd like to spend on my first pair.