• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Reputable Freediving course taught me overbreathing?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Tim B.

May 1, 2017
Hello fellow non-drowning people!

I am pretty new to institutionalized Freediving. A few weeks ago I took a beginners course from a reputable Freediving school.
Everything I learned there seemed super solid, in theory and practice.
20 m were no problem at all and I was looking forward to do the next course there as well.
We did a lot of "conscious" breathing for relaxation purposes, later streamlined into breath up cycles for the dives. The first day we would do three cycles before a dive, averaging at about 2 minutes.
Goes like this:
Forming an o with your lips for the inhales, creating pressure
Short hold
"Cap off" hiss (short exhale) to release pressure
Long slow exhale while hissing
Little flush breath (tidal volume breath as I now know)
Rinse, repeat 3 times then two flushes and then the final breath.

The second day had some more phases added to one cycle and doing 6 before taking the final breath. I never felt like hyperventilating and had the usual urge to breath on the ascents in addition to some light heavy legs feelings.