• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Shooting Mahi and Ono (wahoo) ... Do you really need a Slip tip?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

blaiz

Apr 8, 2008
Im just getting into blue water hunting and I have heard many different opinions on the right gear to use, My question is for thoughs with some experience with Mahi, Ono, or even other palagics, Is a slip tip crucial? or can you get away with a fixed tip and flopper?:wave

Hiya

Alot depends on what type of gun you currently have or what type of gun you are intending to use. Many fish, even large marlin have been taken with a normal fixed barb spear. If you're planing on using a euro/railgun, then stick with a fixed barb. If you're going for the multiple band mid-handle gun, then opt for the slip-tip.