• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Strange DNF vs. Static

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

mz3guy

Aug 4, 2018
So I am relatively new to freediving, and I have been training by doing CO2 tables once a day for the past two weeks. I have always been in extremely good shape and have always been able to swim 25 yards underwater with some difficulty. To get to the point of this post, when I do dry static holds, my max hold is 1:45, but when I do DNF (in pool) my max distance is 50 yards. I feel I could probably swim 75 yards underwater, but I have felt 50 is a good limit for now. However, when browsing these forums and gathering information on freediving throughout the internet in general, I've noticed most people who have the same DNF as me tend to have a much higher static hold time. Can someone explain this to me?

Static performance and DYN or DNF is not always correlated. Static breath holds come in two phases relaxation and struggle phase. It's likely your relaxation phase could improve based on your max being 1:45. Having a higher co2 tolerance will help during the struggle phase. Just because you have a long static does not mean you can swim long distances or dive deep.