• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Tonsils removal -Will this affect any equalization?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Wei Yang

Jan 6, 2017
Hi, I am fairly new to freediving and would like to consult everyone here about equalization.

I keep having recurring tonsils infection from diving and doctor have suggest to remove it permanent as a solution. However I am not quite sure will this have any effect to equalization.

From my rough understanding the tonsils does not play any part in equalization (I'm using the frenzel maneuver) but just do make sure before i proceed with the operation. Any of you all know of anyone who had done the operation before and that it does not interfere with equalization?

Will be of tremendous help if any of you can shed some light to me on this. Many thanks in advance!!

Hi. I had them removed about 10 years ago, no infections after that! I don't recommend the local anesthetic for this procedure...

No effect on my equalizing. I was not very active diver then but I had no trouble going to 5m with valsalva after the recovery.

Reactions: Wei Yang