• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Tuna roller de power (a little)

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Andy Rowland

May 5, 2017
Hi guys,
I'm new to spearing but have used a hand spear for a few weeks. I'm looking to upgrade to a "proper" speargun and like the Rob Allen Tuna railgun specs. I think it would cover all of the aspects I'd need from a gun including the ability to just use one rubber for reef/rocks areas.

My question is this , the Rob Allan rollergun looks awsome in specs but I'm sure would be over powered for using arround the reef. Does the spear have a 2nd notch part way down the shaft to use for less powered shooting? If not could a 2nd smaller rubber like the loader for the rollergun be used to lessen the stretch of the rubbers for closer shooting modes?
Cheers

Hey Andy, if you are thinking of buying a gun, I would definitely recommend the Rob Alan Sparid 1100 as a good allrounder. You can use it with a single rubber around reefs, then add a 2nd rubber when you feel you're ready to go after pelagics or more open water fish. Yes you can also load onto the lower notch to depower any gun, or even drop the rubber diameter within reason.