• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

What better to choose 16mm,18mm or 2x14mm band(which one is more powerful and fast).

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Teorg

Jul 28, 2023
I’m new in spear fishing and I am thinking to buy cressi Cherokee exo 75sm with 16mm band and upgrade it with 2x14 band or picasso speargun railgun magnum rail light green camo with 18mm band or which of the two is better or what other speargun would you recommend me to buy (my budget is 150€).Thanks

Depends on you and what you intend to use it for and where. A single 16mm or single 18mm or double 14mm band are all reasonable choices for a first speargun.

Are you big/small/strong/weak/...? After small, medium, big or huge fish? Deep/shallow, shore/reef/boat/"blue water"/...

My suggestion for the Med might be the old Omer XXV 80cm or perhaps 90cm. But they don't make them any more :( and, last I heard, Omer are no longer made in Italy :(

How about an Apnea ST -90 which comes with 2x14 mm bands and a fashionable reverse trigger mechanism? They are made in Turkey and are/were reasonably priced in the UK, not sure about cost/availability elsewhere.