• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

What breath-up techniques do i use while freediving

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

jmcclung

May 13, 2008
Hi, Im new to the free diving world. I have seen some great stuff on this site on techniques to improve hold time. But what is safe to do while actually freediving??? I know that hyperventilation is no good, what about the "deep breath slow exhale" method. Anyway, i am just wondering what is safe to do while diving. Id love it is someone could help me out with this, or maybe point me to an old thread that answers it. Thanks,
jm

Hi
I am also quite new into freediving.
Although I use to freedive for years, I never went deep into it, and i experimented all on my own.
Recentlu I am also doing an apnea course where the first thing not to do is hyper ventilation.
He alway focuses on relaxation, most important, what might help is pranayama (yoga) breathing techniques. he also says that the best to breath is to inhale normally and to exhale you must take twice as much time.