• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

What Speargun to buy?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.
May 20, 2017
Hello everyone,
I am new to spearfishing. Well at least bluewater spearfishing. My dilemma is not being able to choose the speargun I want. I will be hunting off the texas coast in the blue water of the gulf of mexico. The fish I plan on targeting consist of Tuna, wahoo, amber jack, and marlin.
The speargun I had in mind is.
- Alemanni 130 carbon tube mono roller inverted , 8mm shaft.
Like I said I'm new to blue water hunting and need some advice on a good gun that would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Vassilios, welcome to DeeperBlue.com. Sounds like you in the right ballpark w.r.t. size but hopefully some of our bluewater hunters will be able give detailed feedback. Former staff member Miles typically used to SA railguns of at least 120cm barrel length for blue water spearing, esp. for yellow fin tuna (and 110/115cm for reef fishing).