• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Where to find pikes?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

matrixed82

Jul 22, 2004
I'm really new to spearfishing and I've been out only a couple of times. This weekend I spent 4 to 5 hours looking for a pike with no luck. There were a bunch of nice size bass but I was told they have worms at this time of year. There were also lots of perch but only a few good sized ones, not enough for a decent meal. I know there are pikes in that lake since I saw one a couple of years back and line fishermen catch them regularly. I figure I wasn't looking at the right place or my stalking skills just plain suck.

I did not make many dives past 10m since I didn't have my wetsuit and it was pretty cold past the thermocline. Most of the day was spent snorkeling. The visibility was not that great, about 3m. Given the bad visibility I moved very slowly in the water to avoid scaring the fish away.

At what depth and where (places with lots of weeds?) do you usually find pikes?

Any help would be appreciated.
Daniel

I hope your not planning on shoot Pike in Ontario. If you are hunting in Quebec that a different story.