• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Winter Spearfishing?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

vener

Jun 15, 2013
So I've been spearfishing during the summer for a couple years now but I usually stop during the winter. Here in Rhode Island the water temp gets down to 40 degrees. If I wear a wetsuit, hood, gloves, and boots would it be a good idea to go spearfishing? I'd love to fish during the winter but getting hypothermia isn't on my to do list. Thanks!

in a 5 mm double U might B able to do a ½-hour water time in 4 C water (I could, but I am scandinavian &have practised). I can B in water for I think up an hour in compressed 8 mm titanium-lined double cressi, before hypothermia starts to go from mild to wild. U need also 5-7 mm winter socks &good gloves. As ~85 kg XL male I need @ least 8 kg of weight in fresh water or more if dive dive in the ocean with this setting. Also U need a sleeping bag, thermos full of hot drink &|a warm car (but not hot) to recover from probable hypothermia when U get back from water. Buddy to get the thick wetsuit of is also a must (sometimes it is impossible to get the cold &thight thick winterwetsuit of by yourself especially, if U already R weakened by hypothermia).