• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Beginning

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Zago

Aug 22, 2019
Hi I'm new to spearfishing witch rifle do you prefer for normal budged and easy use.

100cm barrel length euro -style band powered speargun. Alt. Maybe 90cm.

Make and model usually less important than length. Perhaps something Greek or Italian?

(I wrote a fuller reply but it was lost when I posted it, "security error" :( ).

Last edited:
I visited and snorkelled there when it was Yugoslavia. So I am assuming you plan to dive in the relatively clear waters of the Med. But where do expect to encounter amberjack?

I visited and snorkelled there when it was Yugoslavia. So I am assuming you plan to dive in the relatively clear waters of the Med. But where do expect to encounter amberjack?
At the island of korcula now Im on vacation here and i saw amberjacks the third day in a row. Im going on a wild beach where you can go straight to the open see. Here are some octopuses as well yesterday I almost catch a small one by hand. How about an 75cm long rifle.

Are the fish you see close to you or several arm-lengths away?