• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

How do you know when you're ready to go deeper?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Jan 19, 2015
Hi all!

I’m relatively new to freediving. Started about 4 years ago, but unfortunately only get to dive once a year for about 2 weeks :(

So the question is, how would you know when you’re ready to go deeper? Normally we warm up for 30-60 mins in 5-10m water and then gradually increase depth to whatever feels comfortable. However suppose you reach your PB and the whole dive felt ok. How much deeper would you allow yourself to go on the next dive? Or on the same day? Both me and my buddy get contractions when doing dry static, but never when diving. Does this mean we’re just well within our limits?

Thanks! :)
Martina

"However suppose you reach your PB and the whole dive felt ok"

I'm going to assume that you don't over-breathe or hyperventilate before your dive. If you do that you are in danger of blackout. But with a proper and safe breathe-up, and an adequate rest between dives, I'd venture to say that no one has ever done a PB and felt "OK". Almost by definition a personal best is going to be a real struggle and you won't feel "OK".