• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

What gun?!

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

JimboBrit

Jun 2, 2011
Right, I am completely new to spearfishing!
I think I have worked out all the kit I need, but am still very confused about the gun, can anyone help?!
I will mainly be fishing on the South coast of Cornwall, England. I would rather spend a bit more money now and get a good gun that will last me some time, rather than find I am frustrated after a few months or year and have to go out and buy another.
Having looked at other threads, I believe a longer gun is better. I am confused though about pneumatic guns. They are apparently more powerful, but there must be a reason everyone doesn't use them? What is a good brand an model to go for and what are the advantages and disadvantages of bands and pneumatic guns? Also, does anyone know the cheapest place to buy guns on the internet in the UK?
Many thanks in anticipation of all your help and knowledge!

Deja Vu. Typical Brit question :) - I might well have asked that myself when starting out.